Starting tomorrow, 373 million Europeans head to the polls

4 days of voting in 27 countries to elect 720 MEPs.

European elections kick off across the 27 European Union member states tomorrow, Thursday, and will go on until Sunday 9th evening. Most countries go to the polls on Sunday.

The Netherlands will officially be the first to vote, on Thursday. Estonians, however, began voting three days early, with online submissions starting at 9am and in-person voting starting at midday on Monday. The Baltic country is a pioneer in e-voting, being the only EU nation where voters can cast their ballots online.

Around 373 million European citizens are eligible to vote to elect the 720 members of the new European Parliament, with politicians from some 200 political parties across Europe vying for a seat. More than 22 million citizens are first-time voters. The total number of MEPs will be 15 more than there were in the last Parliament, but less than the 751 MEPs that were there before Brexit.

This will be the tenth European Parliament election since the first direct elections in 1979, and the first one after Brexit.

In Malta, elections will be held on Saturday, 8th June, with 16 and 17-year-olds having the right to cast a ballot. Voting will take place from 7am to 10am to elect six MEPs. The European election will be held on the same day of the local councils election across the whole country.

How to vote in Malta

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments